Otis

otis

“Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.” -Emilie Buchwald

Otis by Loren Long is my absolute favorite children’s book that I discovered this summer. It is a very sweet story with well-drawn illustrations and a great message; well suited for both boys and girls. 

Seriously though, this is a book I enjoyed even having read it for the first time as an adult. From what I’ve heard from kids that have read it, Otis has been big hit amongst the intended age group as well. 

The story revolves around Otis, a playful and friendly tractor, who befriends a calf. He is soon replaced on the farm he works at by a newer and bigger tractor, but comes to the rescue when his friend gets stuck in the mud!

There’s something about this book that distinguishes it from other run-of-the-mill picture books. Maybe it’s the appealing, old-fashioned images. Maybe it’s the post-read good feeling that lingers. Maybe it’s the character of Otis himself. Whatever it is, it is well worth the time to check it out in a library or buy it from a bookstore. 

Why I picked it up: I noticed it sitting on the transportation-themed table in the bookstore I worked at and like the illustration on the cover.

Why I finished it: It’s a children’s book, so it’s really not that hard to finish. But I did read two more in the series that we had in stock because each was adorable and well-done. 

Who I’d recommend it to: Children, maybe 7 and under, and anyone who likes a short, feel good story.

Leave a Reply

